Skip to content

And the winner is…..

January 22, 2010

The winner of our twit-knit a long is ……..   *Traveling Woman*

You will need the following supplies to complete this project

  • Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi) 385+ yards
  • One US size 6 (4.0mm)  circular needle, recommended length of 24 or more inches
  • Stitch markers or scrap yarn to use as a marker.

The twitKAL starts on Wednesday!

Please post a picture of your yarn that you will be using in our flickr group- twitKAL and please “cast this on” on Raverly.Feel free to chat with each other here in the comments, on twitter using the #twitKAL hastag or even in the flickr group.

We will update on Twitter every Monday and Friday. The completion date for this project is 2-17-10 (That’s a Wednesday)  Thanks everyone! I am so excited to start this knit a long with you!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. blixkit permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:18 AM

    Yahoo!!!

  2. January 22, 2010 10:18 AM

    oh dang! I have a very important something to have knitted by almost the same deadline (@hamncheezr’s bday is Valentine’s day!) Hope I don’t fall behind!

    • January 22, 2010 10:21 AM

      Really? That’s Katie’s too!! I’m making her Elephante out of red, white and pink handspun!!
      I know it’s fairly short but I figured it was a good time. The pattern doesn’t appear too hard. If people struggle (Quite possibly me. LOL) Then we can adjust the time.

  3. January 22, 2010 10:19 AM

    Yay! I am going to wind up my yarn today!

  4. January 22, 2010 10:21 AM

    Whoo hoo! Now I have a REAL reason to visit the yarn shop. THIS rookie knitter better get her butt in gear. 🙂

    • January 22, 2010 10:22 AM

      Oh I love the yarn shop!! I can’t wait to see what colors and types of yarn everyone picks!

  5. January 22, 2010 10:41 AM

    I’m looking forward to this one. It will help expand my knowledge and test my skills. 🙂

    Nikki, I’ll be working two projects in tandem as well. I have a baby blanket to finish for a friend.

  6. January 22, 2010 12:01 PM

    I am down loading the pattern now. And then going to pick out the yarn, I hope I have some in my stash and don’t have to buy anything new.

  7. January 22, 2010 12:37 PM

    YIPPEEE!!!! I am glad to have all of you to try this one with again!!!! I am re-using Alpaca with a Twist’s Socrates(30% alpaca, 30% merino wool,20% bamboo, 20% nylon) It comes in a 400 yard length. The color listed is 4017 Macaw. I will upload picture later today.

  8. January 22, 2010 5:59 PM

    I have question for everyone. Solid or verigate yarn. I am donw to 3 skeins. a solid dusky pink, a darek blue and pink verigated or a multi colored yarn.

    And for those of you following the stash buster projects, all the yarn is from my stash.

    • January 23, 2010 1:59 PM

      If you are on Ravelry you can look at the Traveling Woman pieces already done to get an idea of what it will look like in a variegated yarn. 🙂

  9. Sheepmama permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:07 PM

    Wonder if I can make this faster on bigger needles and two strands of yarn lol

  10. January 23, 2010 9:39 PM

    I have the yarn and a person in mind who would like the finished product.

    I have only knit, purl, made one and knit two together so far… so I’m scared. I’m pulling out my reference book to learn what sl, ssk and slk2p mean. 🙂

    • January 24, 2010 12:33 AM

      sl = slip. You slip a st to your working needle as if you’re going to purl it but don’t work it.

      ssk= sli, slip, knit. You slip 2 st to your working needle, then put the non-working needle into the FRONT of those two stitches slanting toward your working-needle hand (thereby having your working needle now in the BACK of both stitches) and knit them together. It’s like k2tog but twists the stitches so the decrease slants the opposite way.

      slk2p = slip 1 stitch, knit 2 together, pass the 1st. slipped stitch back over the k2tog stitch. What was 3 st on your needle is now 1 (a double decrease). This is used often in the center of a balanced lace pattern where there is a YO at each end of the pattern repeat, to make up for the 2 yarnovers in ONE decrease stitch and pull the stitches toward the center of the pattern.

  11. blixkit permalink
    January 24, 2010 3:00 PM

    So, has anyone started yet?
    …I’m scared!!

  12. January 24, 2010 10:49 PM

    I can’t wait to get started! I blogged about the KAL yesterday!

Trackbacks

  1. Serendipity… « MICHELLE DARENSBOURG
  2. The Fabulous Twitter Knit Along « A Quilty Kind of Girl

Leave a Reply

