Skip to content

Twitter Knit Along!

January 18, 2010

Yesterday an amazing person I follow on twitter suggested she would like a knit along, (total props to blixnit) so the idea came that we should do a twitter knit along!

If you are intersted in doing a twitter knit along with us please leave your name and twitter address in the comments. Also, since there will be varying degrees of experience with the knitters in this group, I figure we can vote on the pattern we will do.

If you have a great pattern you would like to suggest, please link me to it in the comments!

Here are a few I was thinking may be a good choice

Foliage (A really cute hat)

Susie’s Reading Mitts (fingerless mitts)

Ribbed Lace Bolero (adorable little sweater)

Elefante (Insanely cute little elephant)

Traveling Woman (really pretty shawl/wrap)

These are just suggestions! Please link me to anything you love and I’ll make a list so we can vote. If you love one of these and still want to nominate something, go for it! πŸ™‚

(Just to be clear- We are not voting for a project now. We are gathering patterns and we’ll vote in a few days. )

36 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 11:11 AM

    I wanna play!! I’m @alpacamundo and the Foliage hat is my favorite from this list.

  2. blixkit permalink
    January 18, 2010 12:25 PM

    I’d say either the heffalump, the shawl or the hat.

  3. January 18, 2010 2:58 PM

    I’d be in for a Foliage twitter-knit-along. Great idea!

  4. KnitSteph permalink
    January 18, 2010 3:07 PM

    I may want to join in!!

  5. January 18, 2010 3:34 PM

    I’m in. I can’t see any of the patterns from my BB but I’ll look from the PC later. I kinda like the idea of a small lace project. Then it can do double duty with the 10 shawls in 2010 group. And the knitting Olympics start in less than a month…Good thing I’m not busy (ha! Ha!).

  6. January 18, 2010 4:32 PM

    I am les_the_mess on Twitter and I will surely be KIL(ing)! I love all of the patterns you chose Amber! But I am not ready for the Bolero… maybe by next year (I will be thin enough to knit something fitted for myself).

    Can’t wait!
    Leslie

  7. January 18, 2010 4:45 PM

    I’d love to join in but because of commitment it would need to be Travelling Woman. You could probably twist my arm for elefante.

  8. January 18, 2010 4:53 PM

    Well I’m not the most experienced knitter but it sounds like fun to me! My vote is either the hat, bolero, or lastly the shawl. I’m only voting for the shawl last because the instructions are in German!

  9. Stephanie/steph7201 permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:16 PM

    Like them all!

  10. Fracksmom permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:41 PM

    I say yes, I want to, and the shawl looks like something i can use my Christmas handspun gifted yarn I have sitting here waiting for a project

  11. Sheepmama permalink
    January 18, 2010 5:48 PM

    Bolero!

  12. January 18, 2010 5:53 PM

    Such a great idea!

    I am in…

    Julie

  13. January 18, 2010 7:38 PM

    I’m in! πŸ˜€

    https://twitter.com/mrslevite

  14. January 18, 2010 7:44 PM

    Any of these would be a great choice! I’m not in need of a hat but I’m game, LOL.

    I was gifted a gorgeous 366 yd skein of handspun from my daughter for Christmas, and had actually been looking at these two shawls:
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/JoannaA/diamond-knit-shawl
    or
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Nordicfibregirl/kevat-shawl
    so the Traveling Woman shawl would work instead.

    Looking forward to this!

    Nikki

  15. Debbie permalink
    January 18, 2010 7:53 PM

    I am Debbie and Needlebee on Twitter. I cannot pull up the patterns from my iPhone, but will look on my Imac later. I have jury duty next week. If I don’t get called, after the first day, I may join in.

  16. Jess permalink
    January 18, 2010 8:00 PM

    I’d love to join – how fun!!

    @just_jess_

  17. January 18, 2010 8:12 PM

    Sounds like fun!! I’m @draygoneyarnes and I say my first choice is Travelling Woman (been in my queue for a while now!) and second is Foliage…

  18. January 18, 2010 9:14 PM

    I love them all! The elephant would be perfect for a gift I need to manage to (start and) finish by March for my new godbaby, so first vote is for that. Though I suppose a bird would be more fitting. πŸ˜‰ hehe Can’t wait to get started!

  19. January 18, 2010 9:23 PM

    I’d love to but have a lot on my plate right now. I won’t chime in on a project because it wouldn’t be fair to incase I can’t play along. Put me down as a strong maybe πŸ™‚

  20. slowerpoke permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:27 PM

    I’d like to join in. I already have multiple projects OTN, what’s one more!

  21. Tess permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:50 PM

    Sounds like fun. I’d live to join in. @tessharrison

  22. January 18, 2010 9:56 PM

    If you do traveling woman I am SO in because I had started it for another KAL and…well…let’s just say that I have the yarn and need to remember to life line next time..nuff said about that! I was going to restart on my own but would love to try again with others πŸ™‚

  23. January 18, 2010 11:24 PM

    I’m game! I don’t really have a preference as to the pattern either. All 3 are great!

    -Des
    Hamncheezr on Twitter

  24. January 19, 2010 2:00 AM

    Foliage! @tastyfishnchips

  25. January 19, 2010 3:16 AM

    This does sound like fun … and like I said earlier on Twitter, if anyone wants to join both the Twitter KAL *and* play at Craft or Bust (the weekly craft endurance challenge! ;D) then they’ll be extra inspiration with pretty much no effort … What’s one more blog comment once a week? πŸ˜‰ Craft or Bust link is here, if anyone is interested: http://bit.ly/7Zjsws

    I’ll probably be tweeting along from my more fiber-related Twitter account, starncrossbones. πŸ˜€

  26. Natalie permalink
    January 19, 2010 8:41 AM

    This sounds fun. I’m still working on late holiday gifts and will be doing Ravelympics but like someone says above, what the heck (or something like that). Anyway, I like Foliage and the elephant. Here are a couple more patterns that I like a lot too:

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/composed-mitts
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/december-snowfall
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/knotty-but-nice

    Natalie (chilepie on Ravelry)

  27. January 19, 2010 8:43 AM

    I would love to, but, I don’t know how to knit yet. I can only crochet, a little. 😦

    • spazzyamber permalink*
      January 19, 2010 9:01 AM

      Knitting really isn’t that bad… most of it is just getting comfortable with the movements. I was a life time crocheter, my Nana taught me when I was five. At 25 (last year) I decided to learn to knit and haven’t crocheted since. If you want to join the group, get support and tips and work on an easier pattern we’d love to have you!

  28. January 19, 2010 2:49 PM

    Ok, count me in of course…if it’s a shawl, scarf or hat, I’m there…

    I’ll be doing it under my Knitch name of SnarkyKnitch….

  29. January 20, 2010 11:56 AM

    I’d love to participate but will wait and see what the project is before committing 100%. I vote for elefante – a nice, short project for the first twitter KAL! πŸ˜‰

    • January 20, 2010 11:57 AM

      Oops, and my twitter name is @wendyhoomo (until wendyhoo becomes available … ergh!)

  30. SusanSW permalink
    January 21, 2010 9:33 PM

    I thought I’d answered already but don’t see it, so…
    I’m in! (if I can finish up my current project!)

    My twitter name is @beadmomsw

  31. January 22, 2010 4:12 PM

    I’m in! Thanks for hosting this Amber, hopefully this will get me motivated to get my other shawls finished as well!

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/unravelmedesign

    Find me on Ravelry as needlenhook!

  32. blixkit permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:50 PM

    got my yarn today – Tosh Sock in Oxblood. and yes, i’ve posted in Ravelry as well πŸ™‚

  33. Joanne permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:36 PM

    count me in.. I am not very experienced.. but would like to join^_^ for sure.
    my twitter name is @needlesandyarns

Leave a Reply

